Forum Membership

The Forum membership comprised representatives of developed and developing countries involved in hydropower as well as from the NGO, finance and industry sectors.

Developing countries

  • Dr Yu Xuezhong, Research Professor, China Institute of Water Resources and Hydropower Research, PR China
  • Mr Zhou Shichun, Senior Engineer, China Hydropower Engineering Consulting Group Co., PR China
  • Mr Israel Phiri, Manager PPI, Ministry of Energy and Water Development, Zambia

Developed countries

  • Mr Geir Hermansen, Senior Advisor, Department of Energy, Norad, Norway
  • Prof Gudni A Johannesson, Director General, National Energy Authority, Iceland
  • Ms Kirsten Nyman, Policy Advisor for Sustainable Hydropower, GTZ (now GIZ), Germany (observer)

Environmental aspects

  • Mr David Harrison, Senior Advisor, Global Freshwater Team, The Nature Conservancy
  • Dr Joerg Hartmann, WWF Dams Initiative Leader, World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF)

Social aspects

  • Mr Michael Simon, Lead, People, Infrastructure and Environment Program, Oxfam
  • Dr Donal O’Leary, Senior Advisor, Transparency International

Financial sector - economic aspects

  • Ms Courtney Lowrance, Vice President, Environmental and Social Risk Management, Citigroup Global Markets Inc., member of the Equator Principles Financial Institutions
  • Ms Daryl Fields, Senior Water Resources Specialist, World Bank (observer)

Hydropower sector

  • Dr Refaat Abdel-Malek, President, International Hydropower Association
  • Mr Andrew Scanlon, Manager Business Sustainability, Hydro Tasmania, Australia

Forum chair

  • Mr Andre Abadie, Director, Sustainable Finance Ltd

Forum coordinator

  • Dr Helen Locher, Sustainability Forum Coordinator, International Hydropower Association